Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: We welcome a succulent Merino from Patagonia
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 General Technique Questions
 advice on how to pin seams for mattress stitch
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SkeinHerder
Gabber Extraordinaire

USA
385 Posts

Posted - 03/25/2009 :  6:53:13 PM  Show Profile Send SkeinHerder a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I'm new at seeming and am not sure how to keep my seems from moving while I mattress stitch them together.

Any tips?

Thanks,
S

Happiness is an inside job.

anderknit
Permanent Resident

USA
2603 Posts

Posted - 03/25/2009 :  7:27:36 PM  Show Profile Send anderknit a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I knit my first sweater over 20 years ago, and I still have not found a great way to keep my seams from moving around as I sew them. But just yesterday I used locking stitch markers, and they worked relatively well.

If you don't know what they are, here are a couple of links:

http://tinyurl.com/dkprwy
http://tinyurl.com/ctehmo

Good luck!

"Courage doesn't always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, 'I will try again tomorrow.' "
Go to Top of Page

SkeinHerder
Gabber Extraordinaire

USA
385 Posts

Posted - 03/25/2009 :  9:05:46 PM  Show Profile Send SkeinHerder a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have some of those and never thought to use them for seaming. I will try it. Thanks!

Go to Top of Page

Wen
Permanent Resident

Australia
3244 Posts

Posted - 03/26/2009 :  04:15:56 AM  Show Profile  Visit Wen's Homepage Send Wen a Private Message  Reply with Quote