Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Knitter's Review Retreat details and Sheepshow
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 Sock Forum
 Encouragement for socks please!!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

reteng
Warming Up

74 Posts

Posted - 03/09/2009 :  10:05:45 AM  Show Profile Send reteng a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I am a veteran quilter but new knitter. I have enjoyed knitting simple scarves and really want to learn to knit socks. I purchased three sock knitting books and am starting with the Schurch class sock on DPNs. After much ripping and restarting, I completed the ribbing and the heel flap. Once I finished the heel turn I discovered I had one extra stitch leftover. Not being experienced enough to problem-solve where I went wrong, I ripped out a huge chunk yet again. As I look ahead to the directions for the gusset, I feel overwhelmed by the techniques I don't know. My husband has watched me knit and rip, knit and rip, and wonders why I don't just give up and buy socks. I guess I'd like to know if my experience is a common one or if most new sock knitters just fly through the directions with no trouble. Is there hope for me?

socker
Chatty Knitter

258 Posts

Posted - 03/09/2009 :  10:43:00 AM  Show Profile Send socker a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I knit my first sock about 6 times. Many, many socks later, and the one I'm kniting now.....was from the toe to the heel turn and is now at the toe again.
Go to Top of Page

socks4all
Permanent Resident

USA
1460 Posts

Posted - 03/09/2009 :  11:18:27 AM  Show Profile Send socks4all a Private Message  Reply with Quote