Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A true British yarn from Erika Knight
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Yarn Talk
 Never Again!
 Red Heart
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

abt1950
Permanent Resident

3019 Posts

Posted - 11/18/2007 :  11:08:42 AM  Show Profile Send abt1950 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have a love/hate relationship with Red Heart. My grandmother used it and I learned to knit on it, so there's an element of nostalgia. As a college student, my Red Heart scarf saw me through Chicago winters.

Red Heart may not be the most pleasant yarn to knit with, but it softens with use. It's cheap, durable, and comes in nice colors. It's not my first choice (I'm a yarn snob when knitting for someone who will appreciate it), but it has its uses. It can show off the skill of the knitter just as well as any alpaca, merino, or cahsmere yarn.

Anne in NJ

Knit long and prosper
Go to Top of Page

mrssuem
Gabber Extraordinaire

USA
457 Posts

Posted - 11/18/2007 :  3:03:10 PM  Show Profile Send mrssuem a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Black Red Heart yarn has to be the most horrible yarn I have every had to work with. Even just using it in small amounts for knitting in boots on santa or a belt has me annoyed. I can use Red Heart for other things and it holds up o.k. and knits up o.k. Have found that it really likes to split a lot though.
Go to Top of Page

CathyAnn
Warming Up

USA
96 Posts

Posted - 11/18/2007 :  4:36:38 PM  Show Profile  Send CathyAnn a Yahoo! Message Send CathyAnn a Private Message  Reply with Quote