Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Knitter's Review Retreat details and Sheepshow
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Random Knitting-Related Stuff
 Continental? or Combination Knitting?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Simplicity
Chatty Knitter

USA
104 Posts

Posted - 03/29/2007 :  8:17:49 PM  Show Profile Send Simplicity a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have been kniting since 2004, and am contemplating learning to knit Continental syle.
I would appreciate getting some feedback on pro's and con's before actually taking the class.

After seeing an episode on Knitty Gritty and some of the comments to follow maybe Combination knitting may be the way to go.

goldiegirl
Seriously Hooked

611 Posts

Posted - 03/29/2007 :  10:16:53 PM  Show Profile Send goldiegirl a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I also want to learn to knit continental and have made it a goal for 2007. I think it will come in handy for knitting fair isle (another 2007 goal - try some kind of colorwork). It's also apparently good to switch knitting positions to avoid a repetitive stress injury. And it's said to be faster, although that isn't the primary reason I want to learn.

I don't know of any cons to learning Continental, except that your gauge can be quite different than when you knit English, so you have to watch it if you switch back and forth on the same project.

my gallery
Go to Top of Page

lella
Permanent Resident

9712 Posts

Posted - 03/29/2007 :  10:18:44 PM  Show Profile Send lella a Private Message  Reply with Quote