Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A strong and discreet knot for knitting
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Random Knitting-Related Stuff
 Bad knitting habit?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

zknit08
Chatty Knitter

USA
315 Posts

Posted - 03/18/2011 :  07:54:08 AM  Show Profile  Visit zknit08's Homepage Send zknit08 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I've recently picked up knitting again, as a beginner, I'm afraid that I'm developing a bad knitting habit. I noticed that it is easier for me to knit (casting thread over needle) when I don't wind the yarn through my fingers. I hold the yarn between my thumb and index finger and cast over needle. When I wound yarn through my fingers it seems that my knitting is very uneven and I concentrate so much on keeping the yarn on my fingers (they keep falling off), instead of keeping the stitches even. Is it such a bad habit that I need to stop?

mertle
Permanent Resident

USA
1732 Posts

Posted - 03/18/2011 :  08:21:16 AM  Show Profile Send mertle a Private Message  Reply with Quote
How you hold your yarn is totally up to you. What works for one knitter might not work well for another.

I thread my yarn over my ring finger of my right hand. That gives me just the right tension to get the product I want. The method of wrapping it around your little finger and threading it through other digits (like my mother does) was too tense for me.

Marilyn
My Bags
Go to Top of Page

Consuelo
Gabber Extraordinaire

USA
582 Posts

Posted - 03/18/2011 :  09:17:35 AM  Show Profile Send Consuelo a Private Message  Reply with Quote