Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Photos and wisdom from the Knitter's Review Retreat
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 What Should I Make with It?
 50 Yards or Less
 elann knittable sample skeins
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic   

moxie
Seriously Hooked

844 Posts

Posted - 11/17/2003 :  3:17:59 PM  Show Profile Send moxie a Private Message
quote:
52 sample skeins per year! Sample skeins are 10 yards each for the majority of yarns, 5 yards each for bulky yarns yielding 65 yards per 50g or less, and variable for rare precious yarns where Elann price is greater than $10.00 USD per 50g.

I've been collecting these for a few months, meaning to knit them into swatches when I have a moment. However, does anybody have a good idea for an entire project that could be made with these little twists of yarn?

Moxie

Milinda
Permanent Resident

USA
3817 Posts

Posted - 11/17/2003 :  3:50:11 PM  Show Profile Send Milinda a Private Message
Moxie, long time, no "see"!

M L
Go to Top of Page

GFTC
Permanent Resident

USA
6331 Posts

Posted - 11/17/2003 :  4:14:22 PM  Show Profile  Visit GFTC's Homepage Send GFTC a Private Message
I just received the Patternworks holiday update catalog and the cover is a Christmas tree decorated with tiny little sweaters. The patterns are offered in a book on p.2 and each sweater is multicolored using a total of approx. 20 yards. Otherwise you'll have to make a patchwork something or maybe doll clothes or afghans for a dollhouse if you have any need for that.

Go to Top of Page

Lelani
Permanent Resident

USA
2005 Posts

Posted - 11/17/2003 :  5:03:22 PM  Show Profile Send Lelani a Private Message
Moxie, how do you get these elann sample skeins?