Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Machine Talk
 Super Duper Basic Beginner Talk
 Artisan knitting machine?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

melissajean
New Pal

USA
39 Posts

Posted - 12/13/2007 :  4:05:47 PM  Show Profile Send melissajean a Private Message
I am TOTALLY new to machine knitting, as I am a long time hand knitter. A friend has spiked my interested and I have been doing a little research on the different brands. I went to a local shop who sells Silver Reed Machines and thought it was great....they told me it was the only manufacturer out there.

However, when researching I found info on the Artisan and it sounds GREAT from the discription...but I have NEVER used any machine, so I am skeptical. The Artisan can knit ribbing and do circular knittng....it also can knit from sprot weight to light worsted.

Can anyone give me first hand experience on this machine? Thank you!

Happy knitting

llinn
honorary angel

USA
1650 Posts

Posted - 12/14/2007 :  6:07:52 PM  Show Profile Send llinn a Private Message
Artisan seems to be a reincarnation of the Brother. A good friend was the director of the Brother knitting school for years and still gives workkshops and seminars on machine work. She loves the Brother above all machines. So I expect the Artisan will be a good machine.