Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A true British yarn from Erika Knight
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 Stuck on a Pattern
 Knitty's "Fetching" Fingerless Gloves
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

CatKnitz
New Pal

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 10/02/2006 :  3:06:03 PM  Show Profile  Visit CatKnitz's Homepage Send CatKnitz a Private Message
Can anyone suggest an alternate way to do the thumb stitches on "Fetching", Knitty's fingerless glove pattern?

(The pattern tells you to knit 7 stitches with waste yarn, put them back on the needle and then knit them with the working yarn). Later you carefully remove the waste yarn and pick these stiches up.

I am new to glove knitting, fingerless or not, and I had a hard time removing the waste yarn and finding the stitches.

Would there be a way to slip the stitches on to a stitch holder instead of the waste yarn?
HELP! I have done the left hand and my right hand is getting COLD!!!
Many thanks.

KarenP
Chatty Knitter

172 Posts

Posted - 10/02/2006 :  4:07:44 PM  Show Profile  Send KarenP a Yahoo! Message Send KarenP a Private Message
I think you could slip the seven stitches onto a holder and cast on 7 stitches using the single cast-on method. Then when you go to knit the thumb, you'll have to pick up 7 stitches where you cast them off earlier.

Cheers,

Karen

QUIT SLOUCHING!!!
Go to Top of Page

eknits
New Pal

USA
39 Posts

Posted - 10/03/2006 :  10:11:03 AM  Show Profile Send eknits a Private Message