Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 General Technique Questions
 PSSO question...
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Little Bit
New Pal

42 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2006 :  12:55:18 PM  Show Profile Send Little Bit a Private Message
Hello-

I am a beginner knitter and have a question about a horseshoe lace dishcloth I am about to begin.

On several rows of this pattern, I am directed to "sl 1, K2 together, PSSO". Now the pattern does not indicate whether I should slip knitwise or purlwise.

My question is what would be the best way..knitwise or purlwise, when I slip the stitch? I have read to always slip purlwise unless the directions say knitwise but I just want to be sure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jan

YarnGoddess
Permanent Resident

USA
2460 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2006 :  1:56:49 PM  Show Profile Send YarnGoddess a Private Message
quote:
Originally posted by Little Bit

I have read to always slip purlwise unless the directions say knitwise but I just want to be sure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jan

That's it exactly. Slipping a stitch knitwise twists it. You don't always want a twist.

Elizabeth
Zipper & Diva

A sense of humor can help you tolerate the unpleasant, cope with the unexpected, overlook the unattractive and smile through the unbearable.

To learn more about healthy nutrition for your cat, go here: http://www.catnutrition.org and here: http://www.catinfo.org/
Go to Top of Page

Calamintha
Permanent Resident

USA
2886 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2006 :  4:23:52 PM  Show Profile Send Calamintha a Private Message