Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A new whodunit about a true yarn whisperer
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Reader's Corner
 Errata in Knitting Patterns
 Help with sweater neckline please :)
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

seababy
New Pal

USA
20 Posts

Posted - 09/26/2005 :  10:19:09 AM  Show Profile Send seababy a Private Message
I have been knitting for five years (scarves and hats mostly)and am trying to complete my first sweater. I am at the point where I am to pick up 58 stitches on a 16" neckline (all the way around) and knit in a p1 k1 rib for one inch. I did that last night and the collar looked like a lace pattern. Am I supposed to be using smaller needles? How do i get that nice finish like I see in the picture?
I have looked through at least 13 books on sweaters and picking up stitches and none of the books tells you how to knit after you pick up the stitches. Also, when you pick up the stitches, do you work tighly in order to have a nice collar. Please help! I have worked so much on my first sweater. I dont expect a masterpiece for my 1st sweater, but i dont want it to end up in the back of my closet either! Any advice on technique or a good resource would be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much!

Atavistic
Permanent Resident

6604 Posts

Posted - 09/26/2005 :  10:24:26 AM  Show Profile  Visit Atavistic's Homepage Send Atavistic a Private Message
Does the sweater have ribbing elsewhere? What size did you use for the other ribbing? Use that size for this ribbing, too. On most sweaters, the body is done in a needle size 2 sizes bigger than the ribbing.

Amanda

Amanda