Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A true British yarn from Erika Knight
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Random Knitting-Related Stuff
 I let my guard down.
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

knittingbaglady
Permanent Resident

USA
1207 Posts

Posted - 03/30/2006 :  05:01:23 AM  Show Profile Send knittingbaglady a Private Message
So I've been knitting for 28+ years, and decided to make a shawl that starts at the top in garter stitch. Simple...the only thing you have to do is a 2 YO's in the center and on either end, every other row. Last night when I picked it up, I noticed 3 mistakes in the garter stitch! How on earth I purled when I should have knit is beyond me...there isn't even purling...anywhere!
Needless to say I spent 45 minutes working my way on down (3 inches for each mistake) so I could weave them back up correctly.
I think I pay more attention when it's complicated.

Just goes to show...

Martha.

http://www.greenmountainknittingbags.com/

maribelaprn
Permanent Resident

USA
2033 Posts

Posted - 03/30/2006 :  05:07:48 AM  Show Profile Send maribelaprn a Private Message
Oh, Martha, been there, just did that!! I started the Candle Flame shawl from Knit Picks, which starts of with 18 rows of garter stitch followed by a failry straight forward lace pattern. How many misteaks can one person make in just a few rows?!?! I started to work my way down to the misteaks, but instead, I just dumped it off the needles and frogged it. Right now, I'm blaming the needles and will hold off starting again until I get some bamboo needles which might hold that laceweight yarn better.