Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Celebrating Texas fiber producers
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Machine Talk
 Super Duper Basic Beginner Talk
 machine knitting
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

maddie
New Pal

USA
1 Posts

Posted - 11/21/2007 :  10:14:49 PM  Show Profile Send maddie a Private Message

I am looking for advice on getting a knitting machine. I am a fiber artist relying heavily on felting. recently I have begun selling my work and need to produce faster.. I want to work in the round on worsted weight yarn, mostly! Can I use every other needle on a standard gauge machine to achieve gauge and is it true that with a double bed ( or ribber) you can knit in the round? thanks to anyone who can enlighten me! I have been offered a Brother 910 with ribber so that is why the questions about everyother needle..........

Maddie

Bernie
Chatty Knitter

Canada
115 Posts

Posted - 11/22/2007 :  03:45:06 AM  Show Profile Send Bernie a Private Message
Hi: I personally would not use worsted weight yarn on a standard gauge machine, even using every other needle would be too hard on the machine. You can knit in the round on a machine with a ribber, but there is a learning curve to machine knitting. Standard gauge machines knit baby weight and up to a sport weight yarn. Mid-gauge machines knit sport weight and light worsted. Chunky or bulky machines knit worsted weight and chunky yarn. If you are only using worsted weight yarn you would be better checking out Brother 270, Brother 260, or Singer 155 machines.
Hope this helps.
Bernie
Go to Top of Page

lucylocket
Permanent Resident

4172 Posts