Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A strong and discreet knot for knitting
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Machine Talk
 Super Duper Basic Beginner Talk
 what machine to start with?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

sinnamongirl
New Pal

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 10/07/2007 :  8:27:59 PM  Show Profile Send sinnamongirl a Private Message
I'm just getting into knitting, hand knitting, and love it. However, I am intrigued by machine knitting. It seems fun and technical and fast. I would like to make sweaters for the family, afghans and socks, scarves, etc...I have various articles to know that I will probably end up with 6 machines someday. But right now since i am on a limited budget I have been looking at ebay. I just bought a Studio LK150, supposedly new in box, for $179 plus shipping. I know it's a mid gauge machine and may not do the smaller yarns for socks or the larger bulky wieght yarns, but i think it's a good place to begin.

That being said, I'm thinking about a Brother 400 because it claims to be convertible from 4.5 to 9. Does this really work well? I also have my eye on a Brother 836 since this will take a ribber and a garter carriage....You see?? i can already tell this will be addicting

So, what do you think? Thanks in advance for any and all advice!!

Bernie
Chatty Knitter

Canada
115 Posts

Posted - 10/08/2007 :  03:51:51 AM  Show Profile Send Bernie a Private Message