Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Revisiting the mitered square
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Machine Talk
 Super Duper Basic Beginner Talk
 Manual vs electronic
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Jana M
New Pal

USA
7 Posts

Posted - 08/05/2007 :  1:55:33 PM  Show Profile Send Jana M a Private Message
Hi Knitters!
I'm new to the forum & would like to know if anyone has an opinion about the Silver Reed SK160 (manual) vs the electronic version (SK860). The electronic one is very expensive & I am new to machine knitting. I love computers and would not be intimidated by the software if it's well-written. But, I have never used a knitting machine - so should I buy the manual version & then upgrade later? I'd love to hear opinions from anyone who has used either...

Thanks,
Jana M

llinn
honorary angel

USA
1650 Posts

Posted - 08/05/2007 :  7:10:52 PM  Show Profile Send llinn a Private Message
I'm old, cranky and have a bad attitude about consumer electronics. I don't want any computer controls on my stove, my washing machine, my sewing machine or my knitting machine. I have no issues with computers per se, I just don't want breakable stuff on things I use day in and day out.

My purely mechanical knitting machines are all between 15 and 18 years old and work perfectly well. I used a 50 year old mechanical knitting machine. My sister's computerized sewing machine died at the age of 3. My Pfaff is about 46.

There are nice, mechanical knitting machines with power options that will knit for you but work on punch cards. Uyvonne (who was the director of Brother's knitting machine school) had 2 or 3 back in the 80s and they did fabulous work.