Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A strong and discreet knot for knitting
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 Sock Forum
 Best Size Circular Needles?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

suebob
Chatty Knitter

135 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2002 :  2:16:20 PM  Show Profile Send suebob a Private Message
I wanted to play around with circular needles with the idea of using them in the future for socks. Being a total ignorant on this I bought a pair of size 2 - 24". After casting on 72 stitches of sock yarn, I realized that maybe this needle length is a bit too long. I'm new to using circulars, and I didn't think to ask anyone at the LYS about this (silly me). Can someone tell me what is the best circular needle length for socks using sock yarn, and what your recommendations are for brand?

Edited by - suebob on 02/17/2002 14:17:58

phlame
Permanent Resident

USA
1559 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2002 :  2:40:19 PM  Show Profile Send phlame a Private Message
Hi...you bought exactly the right length for the most versatile use. They really aren't too long for socks, because you have to be able to have length enough to let the ends of the needles not in use hang down. Otherwise they are sticking up your nose! <G>

And that length makes them useful for sleeves and necklines, etc.

Once you use them, you will never go back to dp's!

Shirley
Go to Top of Page

phlame
Permanent Resident

USA
1559 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2002 :  2:42:13 PM  Show Profile Send phlame a Private Message
Oops..and I forgot to say that I use the bamboo Addi Turbo's and love them. I have not used any of the other brands, so I am a little biased.

Shirley
Go to Top of Page

Theresa