Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Knitter's Review Retreat details and Sheepshow
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 Lace Forum
 Tiger Eye Lace Scarf - Please HELP!
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Solaris
Permanent Resident

Canada
4159 Posts

Posted - 06/19/2006 :  4:06:25 PM  Show Profile Send Solaris a Private Message
Sorry if someone posted on this before in this forum, but I just don't get the pattern (I'm a relative knitting newbie), and I desperately want to make this scarf.

Here is a link to picture and pattern:

http://www.tmooka.net/blogs/stitchingirl/patterns/tigereyescarf.pdf

What does a "no stitch" mean? (the gray squares)
Someone said that it just means skip the stitch - skip how? Meaning slip stitch?

I tried just "slipping" those stitches, but as soon as I get to the end of 4-th row, I seem to be short 2 stitches on the needle (notice, there are 2 "no stitch" squares in that row). I cast on 31 stitches, just like the instructions say, I maintained the 3 edge sts on either side, too. What am I doing wrong?
Maybe it is the 4 yo's in a row? How do you execute them properly?
And how do you execute stitches that will come above those yo's properly? I mean, is there a special technique, or are they just your basic yo's?

I know that some of you already finished this scarf, with beautiful results(judging by your pictures in another forum), so I know that the pattern is do-able.

Please, pleeeeeeeeeeeease help me figure this pattern out.

Solaris

sarakate
Seriously Hooked

USA
818 Posts

Posted - 06/19/2006 :  4:20:33 PM  Show Profile Send sarakate a Private Message