| Author |
Topic  |
|
|
wkf0316
New Pal
7 Posts |
|
|
azblueskies
Permanent Resident
    
2300 Posts |
Posted - 12/22/2005 : 07:14:54 AM
|
| Price looks good but there isn't much information about the yarn and they don't have much stock. I've never heard of them. Is it free shipping no matter how much you order? If you order, you'll have to let us know how they are. (And I'd check Cascade 220 and Paton's prices to compare because they have more yardage and the prices might be close. We've all had good experience felting with both those yarns. FYI, Patons is $4.99 for 223 yards and if you order $25 or more, you get free shipping at Joanns today...and I have NO affiliation with Joanns...I'm just a comparison shopper.) |
 |
|
|
msgb
Gabber Extraordinaire
  
USA
531 Posts |
Posted - 12/22/2005 : 08:01:05 AM
|
I have never heard of them. The prices look wonderful but what is the yarn and who makes it and how they make their product so inexpensive? |
 |
|
|
eggshel344
Gabber Extraordinaire
  
USA
391 Posts |
Posted - 12/22/2005 : 1:20:05 PM
|
they do look to have great prices and some nice colors, the home page says the yarn is 100% Australian wool...
I did notice the web site's copywrite date to be 2005, so they could be new and trying to gain customers which could explain the low prices and the somewhat limited supply of yarn. Also other parts of the site seemed unfinished, if you know what I mean, like the free patterns page had some photos, but no actual patterns yet, and a note saying "instructions and more to come" This could also be a sign of a new shop trying to get going... I would be curious to hear anyone's experience if they do or have tried them.. I am getting into dying, and if nothing else the white and ivory could be good base yarns cheep...
*new blog* http://www.samanthainstitches.blogspot.com/
"Failure is only an opportunity to begin agian more intellegently." When Henry Ford said that I doubt he had knitting in mind, but if the sweater fits... |
 |
|
|
wkf0316
New Pal
7 Posts |
Posted - 12/22/2005 : 3:28:03 PM
|
| good analysis azblueskies. i actually learned the site from an eBay seller. She has a ME page that advertises her online shop. she has only 13 feedbacks that means she is new in business. from her feeback looks like she sells good quality yarn and DPNs. pictures look good too. I'm really interested in giving it a try. I sure will let you guys know about my experience shopping with them. |
 |
|
|
greengirl
Seriously Hooked
   
Taiwan
679 Posts |
Posted - 12/22/2005 : 9:38:47 PM
|
| The pictures on the site aren't very sharp, but it looks like the yarn labels are in simplified Chinese characters. Therefore, although the wool may be from Australian sheep, there is a good chance that it is prepared, dyed, and spun in Mainland China. |
 |
|
| |
Topic  |
|
|
|
| Knitter's Review Forums |
© 2001-2013 Knitter's Review |
 |
|
|
|