Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Photos and wisdom from the Knitter's Review Retreat
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Yarn Talk
 Stash management
 Confessions of a Small Stash
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

aranworld
New Pal

USA
48 Posts

Posted - 09/20/2005 :  07:52:50 AM  Show Profile  Visit aranworld's Homepage Send aranworld a Private Message
I have been knitting off and on for about 17 years, and my "stash" fits inside of a single plastic storage container that sits on a shelf in my closet.

Actually, I'm not really sure it counts as a stash, because the yarn in the container is mostly leftover yarn from past projects. I do have a couple of GGH skeins that I bought out of pure curiosity, but otherwise, I only buy yarn for projects that I am immediately going to start working on.

I actually think it is a bit silly to beat yourself up over owning a large stash. If you have the money for it, why not? But if you are wondering if it is possible to be a knitter, and have a small stash of yarn, I can say for certain that it is possible.

http://www.aranworld.com/

Momma78239
Permanent Resident

USA
4859 Posts

Posted - 09/20/2005 :  09:05:28 AM  Show Profile  Visit Momma78239's Homepage  Send Momma78239 a Yahoo! Message Send Momma78239 a Private Message
My stash sounds very much like yours, Aran. It's one dresser drawer of mostly leftover bits. Of course, I also have one drawer of doll-making stuff, one of sewing stuff, and one of spinning stuff, plus two small drawers of knitting notions and sewing notions. Still, not really a stash.