Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: A true British yarn from Erika Knight
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Spinner Central
 Seeking nearby spinners / guilds
 Seeking help with antique spinning wheel
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

asemumma
New Pal

32 Posts

Posted - 09/02/2005 :  10:03:18 AM  Show Profile  Visit asemumma's Homepage Send asemumma a Private Message
I'm just learning to spin with a drop spindle, but I am looking for someone who is experienced with antique spinning wheels to help me learn how to use a family heirloom. Also, someone who can help me set it up properly and check it to see if it has everything it needs.

The wheel I'm speaking of was my Great-great grandmother's, and although it has been lovingly displayed in the family home for years, I am not 100% sure it's operable.

I'm also looking for nearby spinners and who'd be willing to take a novice under their wings!

I'm in Western Michigan, and would love some leads!

Fivefibers
Permanent Resident

USA
1131 Posts

Posted - 09/02/2005 :  10:28:36 AM  Show Profile Send Fivefibers a Private Message
Hi!

Learning to spin? Good for you! It is an enjoyable pastime, although that would be by OUR standards... not necessarily by our great-grandma's.