Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Always know how much yarn you need
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 Knitting Talk
 Boys Who Knit
 knitting around other guys
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

collieknit
Warming Up

84 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2005 :  1:16:46 PM  Show Profile Send collieknit a Private Message
I've been knitting for three years, and am still nervous about knitting around other guys. Some of them just stare, others have been jerks, so what can I do? Also, I don't get this whole ultra macho image I keep seeing on tv and the movies. Would someone explain it to me?

Monkachia
Permanent Resident

USA
1224 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2005 :  1:27:20 PM  Show Profile  Visit Monkachia's Homepage Send Monkachia a Private Message
I'm nervous to knit around some women because they think it's old fashioned. Guys have made stupid comments to me too.
Is there a knitting group with guys that you could go to or even start? That would be a great way to meet people.
Screw those guys, I know it can be intimidating. There isn't really anything you can do except ignore them. Guys usually want to have the last word or want to start something. Just ignore and give them no words.
Chia

http://munkiknits.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

MMario
Permanent Resident

2210 Posts

Posted - 06/01/2005 :  1:29:24 PM  Show Profile Send MMario a Private Message
I would try - except I don't get it either...*grin*

I would say I'm probably more nervous knitting around women then I am knitting around men. Chances are much higher that one of the women will know more then I do or be more skilled.