Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Photos and wisdom from the Knitter's Review Retreat
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Knitting as Therapy
 Nightmare presentation - I PASSED
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Sabrina Fair
Seriously Hooked

United Kingdom
639 Posts

Posted - 02/19/2005 :  08:00:23 AM  Show Profile Send Sabrina Fair a Private Message
I am doing a PhD in software complexity metrics (I am sure that you are all asleep already). Anyway part of the process here is that for 2 years you do a dual track and then do a transfer interview and presentation. If you do well you go on the PhD track if you do middling you go on the Masters by research track and if you do badly you fail.

Well I already have a Masters so to be worth my self respect and 2 years work so far, not to mention the fees and the time from my family I have to get onto the PhD track.

In some ways I am not to worried as I think that my supervisor would have indicated if things were going wrong. He is a perfectionist and a very conscientious man.

The probelm is I hate the write up of the presentation. I have been working on it for a couple of weeks and have until Thursday to submit the written work. I then have one more week to prepare the viusal stuff. All the time I should be writing I keep poping onto KR to reward myself for a little bit more. When I knit at home in the evenings I feel badly because I am waisting time.

I can't wait until its all over and if I did get knocked back after all this I would be mortifed. I also hate giving presentations, especially to people I know because you have to see them afterwards.

Sabrina

Sabrina fair,