Knitter's Review Forums
  The online community for readers of Knitter's Review.
  This week: Revisiting the mitered square
   > Have you subscribed yet?
Knitter's Review Forums
KR Home | My Profile | Register | Active Topics | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Want to make Betty happy?
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your username or password?

All Forums
 General Chitchat
 Random Knitting-Related Stuff
 My Yarn for Fitness Program
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

ladyamythyst69
Gabber Extraordinaire

372 Posts

Posted - 01/12/2005 :  3:10:29 PM  Show Profile Send ladyamythyst69 a Private Message
I thought I would share my new "Yarn for Fitness" program. I have been telling myself for awhile that it would be a good thing to get off the couch & tone up & lose a little weight & just generally get healthier. I have a great recumbant excersise bike in the basement but not much motivation. But just before Christmas it hit me! I could motivate myself through my knitting! After all, I will go out to a yarn store in any weather, stretch my budget to the limit buying yarn, stash endlessly - I even dream about yarn. So I put myself on the "Yarn for Fitness" program. I get a penny for every calorie I burn on the bike. I peddle away furiously watching that stash money add up. I imagine hanks of Lorna's Laces dangling just a few feet in front of the bike. (It is the ultimate knitters carrot on a stick!) I've been on the program for a month now and feel great about my progress. I am able to do 10 miles in an hour on a stiff resistance several times a week. And whenever I want to quit - feel like I'm going to die if I peddle anymore - I tell myself to just keep going until the calorie counter is at a nice round number. Today I earned myself $4.67. Granted that is pretty small change for an hour's worth of torture but hopefully soon I will be spending my cash on some lovely yarn while wearing a size sma